Oaxaca: where the guac doesn’t cost extra 

The guacamole didn’t cost any extra in Mexico City either, but it’s a good title. Callum said something along those lines when we first got in at 9pm after being on a 7hr bus ride from Mexico City to Oaxaca (pronounced wa-ha-ka). We were sitting in a little restaurant eating some delicious tacos of unknown meat origin when Callum pointed out that the brimming bowl of guacamole we had, came at no extra cost. What a time to be alive.

I also now know why Mexico City isn’t referred to as the painted city. This, I’m thinking, is because all the cities are equally as colourful. Oaxaca was perhaps even more colourful then Mexico City. But also slightly deceiving. I noticed that this morning on the way to the airport (currently sitting in the terminal waiting for our flight to Tuxtla Gutierrez). The inner sanctum of the city, which is where we were staying is absolutely gorgeous, the buildings are old and brightly painted, the streets are cobbled, there’s an artisan store selling homemade wares around every corner, and the people seem so lovely. But as we drove to the airport we saw the rest of the city which, whilst not exactly run down, isn’t as stunning, or as fancy, or as clean as the main area. My Lonely Planet book on Mexico tells me that Oaxaca is one of the poorest states in Mexico City. So always something to keep in mind even if I’m not seeing that side of things.

Anywho back to the beautiful city of Oaxaca. Very sad to be leaving it so soon. We only had three nights, two full days in Oaxaca. I wish we had more time to explore the city, and to explore the state itself.

The first full day in Oaxaca we basically spent wandering its streets and marvelling at all the old churches and artisan products. The place is very crafty and all the artisan stores, generally, seem to camp out together in what I assume used to be big houses. So you walk into a small private courtyard that’s surrounded by small shops selling their wares.

Oaxaca also seems to have a surplus of churches. We wandered into some, marvelled at the golden gilt walls, and the huge structures, and then wandered back out again. The first day was pretty chill with some lazy exploration and taking in the change of pace from Mexico City.

We had lunch in a small rooftop restaurant and it was amazing. Ordered waaaay too much food but got to try some mole, the sauce that’s famous in the Oaxaca region, and we got to try fried grasshopper. Which, when I read about and imagined it I envisioned one giant grasshopper on a stick. Not too sure why but that image was in my mind. So when a bowl of tiny insects came out I was a bit surprised. I’m also surprised that I enjoyed them! They were very salty and seemed to be dried (or fried?) and they were good sprinkled over things. Was a little paranoid later that I had legs stuck in my teeth but there were no dramas.

After that we toddled back to the room stuffed full of food and finished off LOTR: The Twin Towers. In the evening we made an attempt to be social with our fellow travellers but no one was taking the bait. So we went out to dinner in town and ordered more food then we needed as we were still full from lunch. And thus ended our first day in Oaxaca. Oh and Callum managed to pet a giant great dane whilst I was stuck chatting to the semi-crazy owner.

 

The End

Rachel

 

Leave a comment